: Technical issues thread- please note any issues here -

Jump to content

  • 17 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »

Technical issues thread- please note any issues here

#1 User is offline   Dave W 

  • Group: Executive
  • Posts: 8300
  • Joined: 17-October 03
  • LocationBrighton

Posted 06 September 2011 - 09:17

Please add any technical issues here that you find when using the new forum. We cant promise to help everyone or sort them out immediately but we will try to do what we can to investigate them.
0

#2 User is offline   BDG's Sockpuppet 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 22-January 06
  • LocationTonbridge, Kent. 44m asl.

Posted 06 September 2011 - 09:51

1) uploaded image files seem to be missing from my old posts (as opposed to URL linked images)

2) Edited posts don't reveal that they have been edited from the original message.
0

#3 User is offline   Dave W 

  • Group: Executive
  • Posts: 8300
  • Joined: 17-October 03
  • LocationBrighton

Posted 06 September 2011 - 10:54

Cannot post in 'Autumn Model Chat thread '.. thread hangs
Using IE8

Masses of white space (a foot!) between non rich edit posts
Using IE8
0

#4 User is offline   Dave W 

  • Group: Executive
  • Posts: 8300
  • Joined: 17-October 03
  • LocationBrighton

Posted 06 September 2011 - 11:11

Bottom line for me is most of the old threads dont load or crash the browser.. not good :(
0

#5 User is offline   Bazmundo 

  • Group: Warnings Team
  • Posts: 6717
  • Joined: 08-May 09
  • LocationNewcastle-u-lyme, Staffs

Posted 06 September 2011 - 11:16

View PostDave W, on 06 September 2011 - 11:11, said:

Bottom line for me is most of the old threads dont load or crash the browser.. not good :(


The old threads are ok in Google Chrome? :huh:
0

#6 User is offline   smartie 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 399
  • Joined: 22-January 06
  • LocationSE London

Posted 06 September 2011 - 11:17

Could not log on using old user name and password. Could not change password even after clearing cache. 403s or 405s encountered.
Managed to create new user account OK. Posted reply OK.

Forum loads noticeably quicker.

Could we have a top 50/100 please?

David

Suse 11.4/ FireFox 6x
0

#7 User is offline   Bazmundo 

  • Group: Warnings Team
  • Posts: 6717
  • Joined: 08-May 09
  • LocationNewcastle-u-lyme, Staffs

Posted 06 September 2011 - 11:34

Got a 403 when I tried to "manage friends" from my account tab (top right). Prob the least of our problems, but thought I'd post it anyway.
0

#8 User is offline   P.K. 

  • Group: Forum Managers
  • Posts: 8409
  • Joined: 16-November 04
  • LocationWatford

Posted 06 September 2011 - 11:45

The old threads seem to be loading for me, if with formatting which has gone a little weird in a few cases. I tried earlier with FF and it seems to also be working here in IE.

I had to reset my password and then ignore the error that brought up and log in again to get in.
0

#9 User is offline   Dave W 

  • Group: Executive
  • Posts: 8300
  • Joined: 17-October 03
  • LocationBrighton

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:02

Am now using Google Chrome and its MUCH better .. the issue seems to be with IE8 . I will update to IE9 and see if that helps but for the moment will stick with using chrome.
0

#10 User is offline   Bazmundo 

  • Group: Warnings Team
  • Posts: 6717
  • Joined: 08-May 09
  • LocationNewcastle-u-lyme, Staffs

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:06

If you delete your own post you hit a "service unavailable" page, but just nav back to the forums and it has actually worked. (Sorry, just another for future ref).
0

#11 User is offline   Dave W 

  • Group: Executive
  • Posts: 8300
  • Joined: 17-October 03
  • LocationBrighton

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:14

Baz, just about to say much the same thing.. and seems to be the same for edit as well. Don't believe the 505 errors!

edit test
0

#12 User is offline   Bazmundo 

  • Group: Warnings Team
  • Posts: 6717
  • Joined: 08-May 09
  • LocationNewcastle-u-lyme, Staffs

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:17

View PostDave W, on 06 September 2011 - 12:14, said:

Baz, just about to say much the same thing.. and seems to be the same for edit as well. Don't believe the 505 errors!


Oh? Edit works fine for me...? I get a nice little message page... Posted Image
0

#13 User is offline   P.K. 

  • Group: Forum Managers
  • Posts: 8409
  • Joined: 16-November 04
  • LocationWatford

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:22

I've also managed to edit a post with no problems. I'm using IE8 here without the problems you were having Dave.
0

#14 User is offline   Dave W 

  • Group: Executive
  • Posts: 8300
  • Joined: 17-October 03
  • LocationBrighton

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:26

Ok yes , edit actually seems ok on Chrome for me, yes..
0

#15 User is offline   BDG's Sockpuppet 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 22-January 06
  • LocationTonbridge, Kent. 44m asl.

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:28

More a suggestion than a "Technical Issue" - we need a hints and tips thread to exchange experience for posting on the new forum.

For example how to import external tables from HTML or Excel. Copy and paste doesn't disply them properly.
0

#16 User is offline   P.K. 

  • Group: Forum Managers
  • Posts: 8409
  • Joined: 16-November 04
  • LocationWatford

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:31

View PostBig Dave, on 06 September 2011 - 12:28, said:

More a suggestion than a "Technical Issue" - we need a hints and tips thread to exchange experience for posting on the new forum.

For example how to import external tables from HTML or Excel. Copy and paste doesn't disply them properly.


Go into My Settings on the top right and you can enable the rich text editor.
0

#17 User is offline   Dave W 

  • Group: Executive
  • Posts: 8300
  • Joined: 17-October 03
  • LocationBrighton

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:31

Will do Dave [y]
0

#18 User is offline   BDG's Sockpuppet 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 24
  • Joined: 22-January 06
  • LocationTonbridge, Kent. 44m asl.

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:35

View PostP.K., on 06 September 2011 - 12:31, said:

Go into My Settings on the top right and you can enable the rich text editor.


Actually it is enabled already but it seems that you can't just copy and paste an HTML table because it does this:

Stations:PrecipitationCapel Curig (215 m)45.0 mmShap (249 m)43.0 mmSkye/Lusa (18 m)39.4 mmSpadeadam II (286 m)32.0 mmLoch Glascanoch (264 m)24.2 mmLake Vyrnwy (359 m)21.0 mmEskdalemuir (242 m)18.0 mmWarcop Range (227 m)17.2 mmTulloch Bridge (236 m)15.4 mmCardinham (199 m)15.0 mmLiscombe (347 m)15.0 mm

So you must have to use the HTML style to get it to display properly.

0

#19 User is offline   PK2's sockpuppet 

  • Group: Members
  • Posts: 10
  • Joined: 22-January 06

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:44

View PostDave W, on 06 September 2011 - 11:11, said:

Bottom line for me is most of the old threads dont load or crash the browser.. not good :(

I thought we weren't going to import the new threads because they caused it to "go wrong"?

A minor problem ATM but when I try use the "status updates" box I find that the box I'm typing in is much larger than displayed. Resulting in me typing much of the content "blind" because it's off screen. If I type enough I can then see it "wrap around" so I can see what I'm doing again...
0

#20 User is offline   Dave W 

  • Group: Executive
  • Posts: 8300
  • Joined: 17-October 03
  • LocationBrighton

Posted 06 September 2011 - 12:46

True yes.. I recall Dave C saying that? Dave? .. but at the moment they do seem ok -in chrome at least -I must admit. I've switched to Chrome from IE8 since i wrote that..

For info- New forum tips & tricks thread is here http://www.ukweather...nd-tips-thread/
0

Share this topic:


  • 17 Pages +
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • Last »
  • You cannot start a new topic
  • Add Reply Add Reply


Fast Reply

  

1 User(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users